Welcome to Beloved Fertility Center by Dr. Suchada Mongkolchaipak, Phyathai Sriracha Hospital, Thailand

体外受精和胞质内精子注射

什么是体外受精(IVF)和胞浆内精子注射(ICSI)?

IVF和ICSI为辅助生殖方法,其中人精子和卵子在人体外的实验室培养皿中结合。这种结合的结果是受精卵,它将继续发育成胚胎。可以将一个或多个胚胎移植到子宫腔中进行植入。可以冷冻多余的胚胎,以备将来使用。

IVF和ICSI治疗的基本步骤为:为了产生若干个卵子的卵巢刺激、受精、胚胎培养、胚胎移植和冷冻剩余的胚胎。

IVF和ICSI之间的差异在于使用的受精技术。在精子质量正常的情况下,通过将足够浓度的活精子置入卵子中并等待受精自然发生,可以成功地进行体外受精。在精子质量低的情况下,将采用胞浆内精子注射(ICSI)代替IVF。ICSI是由科学家在实验室中选择一个良好的精子并将它注射到卵子中的过程。通过这样做,在对于IVF而言不够好的低质量精子的情况下,可以使受精优化。

GnRH拮抗剂方案

卵巢刺激计划

IVF和ICSI的第一个过程是通过使用促排药物催生若干个卵子。使用药物的目的是刺激卵巢中的多个卵子生长,而不仅仅是通常每个月自然发育的单个卵子生长。通过这样做,成功的可能性将高于自然受孕的可能性。

有几种用于催生卵子的卵巢刺激方案。在我们的案例中,我们只使用一个我们有几年经验的方案。我们为我们的患者选择的方案是GnRH(促性腺激素释放激素)拮抗剂方案。这个方案比较容易,并且可以提高给予患者的药物的生物利用度。该方案之后的卵子质量与早期方案的卵子质量相同,但早期方案对于患者而言是相当困难的。我们的方案对患者而言更友好。没有必要校验血液检测几次或连续几天进行经阴道超声。该方案适用于所有年龄组和各种患者。

通常我们在周期的第二天或第三天开始用药,并针对这一时间对我们的患者进行预约。在周期的第二天或第三天,我们将检查激素谱和AMH水平来评价卵巢功能,并选择适合每位患者的促排药物的剂量。经阴道超声对于首诊不是那么重要,因为AMH可以非常好地评价卵巢反应,除非来自激素谱的一些迹象显示我们需要进一步用经阴道超声进行评估。然而,评价药物反应的随访是非常必要的。我们可以在医疗注射后观察卵巢反应几天,通过评价激素水平和/或经阴道超声监测反应,并根据反应调整剂量水平。我们称之为个体化卵巢刺激方案。

窦卵泡计数

药物剂量真的与卵子的数量相关吗?

不,不相关。较高剂量的药物并非总是催生较多数量的卵子。卵子的数量取决于女性的年龄、周期间的变化、她的卵巢功能和卵巢储备。在过度反应者(年轻女性或PCO病例)的情况下,药物剂量应该低于正常剂量,以尽量减少太多卵子的并发症和由于过度反应而引起的并发症。

显示多个卵子的经阴道超声

在正常反应者中,可以根据反应调整剂量。在年龄较大的患者或低反应者中,最多可以按照每天300-400单位增加剂量,这是可以获取优质卵子的最高剂量。相比之下,在低反应者或年龄较大的患者中高于400单位,例如500-600单位的剂量可能损害卵子质量,但卵子的数量不增加。其主要原因是太高的药物剂量会加剧生长速度并产生异常的卵子。

每一卵巢刺激产生的平均卵子数可以通过经阴道超声针对窦卵泡计数(阅读更多关于AFC的信息)AMH水平(在这里阅读更多的AMH信息)进行估计。就我们自己的数据而言,卵子数和AMH水平之间的相关性非常高。

完成卵巢刺激程序后,用新的药物触发排卵,该药物使得卵泡释放卵子。市场上有几种排卵触发剂,例如hCG和GnRH激动剂。用药后,我们需要通过检测血液或尿液来确保药物的有效性。

显示超声引导取卵的图片

取卵操作

在经阴道导引超声下从卵泡抽吸卵子的操作需要全身麻醉,以确保患者感觉不到疼痛并且熟睡。

取卵是通过经阴道超声抽吸完成的。将超声探头插入阴道中以辨认卵泡,并且将针引导通过阴道并进入卵泡中。

通过连接到抽吸装置的针从卵泡吸取卵子。这通常需要不到30分钟的时间,并且取决于卵子的数量。在操作之后,一些女性可能会在取卵当天经历痉挛,但除了具有许多卵子的一些女性可能仍然经历几天轻微的腹部不适之外,通常这种不适会在第二天好转。

从卵巢中获取卵子

卵子采集

在取卵之后,从卵泡液中获取卵子并保存在生理培养基中。

在生理培养基中恢复半小时后,使用IVF或ICSI技术处理用于与精子结合受精的卵子。

在ICSI的情况下,将去除卵子外壳。在实验室检查裸化卵子的成熟度和质量。将成熟的卵子放置在IVF培养基中并转移到培养箱中,以等待精子受精。通常,卵子成熟度的百分比在80%或以上。例如:可以取10个卵子,其中8个成熟到足以受精,另外两个是不成熟的。只有成熟的卵子才可以在受精过程中使用。未成熟的卵子通常是异常的,必须丢弃。并非所有的卵子都可以使用,而且并非所有成熟的卵子都正常且能产生健康的妊娠。

ICSI受精

从通常通过手淫获得的精液中分离精子,放入无菌容器中。具体地说,由于无精子症(射精中没有精子)或射精精子质量低的问题,需要通过外科技术直接从睾丸中取得精子。

受精可以通过人工授精来完成,其中足够的活动精子与卵子放置在一起并孵育一会儿以等待体外受精或ICSI,其中单个精子直接注射到每个成熟卵子中。

在取卵和受精的第二天,两个原核的可视化可以证实卵子的受精。一个原核源自卵子,一个来自精子。

成熟卵子的总受精率为65-75%。在有经验的胚胎学家的掌控中,较低受精率的原因可能是卵子或精子质量差。有时候,根本不发生受精,即使已经使用了ICSI也是如此。

这张照片证实了卵子含有一个雄性核和一个雌性核(来自父亲和母亲)。有时,我们可以看到卵子含有两个以上的核,额外的一个来自父亲或母亲。这是一种异常受精,必须丢弃卵子。

其后一天胚胎将分裂为两个细胞,第2天4个细胞,第3天8个细胞。有时我们将8细胞期胚胎移植给患者。如果我们培养胚胎更长时间,并等待至少五天至六天使囊胚发育(形成液体充满的腔),我们将获得比8细胞期具有更高植入成功率的最有效的胚胎。大多数时候,我们倾向于在稍晚阶段的第5天移植胚胎。然而,可以生长超过8细胞期的胚胎的数量取决于卵子和精子的质量以及胚胎培养系统的质量控制。

1-2

第1-2天2个细胞

1-3

第2天4个细胞

1-4

第3天8个细胞

1-5

第3-4天10-16个细胞

embryo-pictures-crop-1

第5-6天囊胚

关于胚胎移植,请点击这里

Welcome to Beloved Fertility Center by Dr. Suchada Mongkolchaipak, Phyathai Sriracha Hospital, Thailand

Opening Hours : Monday to Sunday - 8am to 7pm
  Contact : +6681-000-7500

IVF and ICSI (In Vitro Fertilization and Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection)

What is IVF and ICSI ?

IVF and ICSI are the methods of assisted reproduction in which human sperm and eggs are combined outside the human body in a laboratory dish. The result of this combination is a fertilized egg that will go on to develop into an embryo. One or more embryo may be transferred into the uterine cavity for implantation. The excess embryos may be frozen for future use.

The basic steps of IVF and ICSI treatment are ovarian stimulation to produce several eggs, fertilization, embryo culture, embryo transfer and freezing the remaining embryos.

The difference between IVF and ICSI is the fertilization technique that is used. In the case of normal sperm quality, in vitro fertilization can be done successfully by putting enough concentration of live sperm into the eggs and waiting for fertilization to occur naturally. In the case of low sperm quality, intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) will be done instead of IVF. ICSI is the process in the laboratory of selecting one good sperm and injecting it into an egg by the scientist. By doing this, the fertilization can be optimized in the case of low sperm quality that is not good enough for IVF.

GnRH Antagonist Protocol

Ovarian stimulation program

The first process of IVF and ICSI is reproducing several eggs by using fertility drugs. The purpose of using medication is to stimulate multiple egg growth in the ovaries rather than only a single one that normally develops naturally each month. By doing this, the chances of success will be higher than those of natural conception.

There are several ovarian stimulation protocols used to reproduce the eggs. In our case, we use only one protocol of which we have several years’ experience. The protocol we choose for our patients is the GnRH (Gonadotropin releasing hormone) antagonist protocol. This protocol is easy and can improve the bioavailability of the medication to the patient.  The egg quality after the protocol is no different to that of the earlier protocol that was quite difficult for the patient. Our protocol is patient-friendly. There is no need to check blood tests several times or to conduct transvaginal ultrasound over several days. This protocol works for all age groups and all kinds of patients.

Usually we start medication on the second or third day of the period  and an appointment is made for our patient for this time. On the second or third day of the period, we will check the hormone profile and AMH levels to evaluate the ovarian function and choose the dose of fertility drugs that is appropriate for each patient. Transvaginal ultrasound is not so important for the first visit because AMH can evaluate the ovarian response very well, except where there are some evidences from the hormone profiles that we need to evaluate further with transvaginal ultrasound.  However, the follow-up to evaluate the medication response is very necessary. We can follow up the ovarian response after medical injection for a few days to monitor the response by evaluating hormone levels and/or by transvaginal ultrasound and adjust the dose level according to the response. We call this the individualized ovarian stimulation protocol.

Antral Follicle Count

Does the dose of medication really correlate to the number of eggs?

No, it does not. A higher dose of medication does not always reproduce a higher number of eggs. The number of eggs depends on the age of the woman, the variation between cycle to cycle, her ovarian function, and ovarian reserve. In the case of over responders (younger women or PCO cases), the dose of medication should be lower than the normal dose to minimize complications of too many eggs and complications arising from over response.

Transvaginal ultrasound showed multiple eggs

In the normal responder, the dose can be adjusted according to the response. In an older patient or a low responder, the dose can be increased maximally at 300–400 units per day, which is the highest dose that can recover the good-quality egg. In contrast, a dose higher than 400 units, for example 500–600 units per day in a low responder or older patient can damage the egg quality but the number of eggs is not increased. The main reason for this is that too high a dose of medication will aggravate the growth rate and produce abnormal eggs.

The average egg number for each ovarian stimulation can be estimated by transvaginal ultrasound for antral follicle count and AMH level. For our own data, the correlation between egg number and AMH level is very high.

After completion of the ovarian stimulation program, ovulation will be triggered with a new medication that allows the follicles release the eggs. There are a few kinds of ovulation triggers on the market, for example hCG and GnRH agonist. After medication, we need to ensure the effectiveness of medication by testing the blood or urine.

Picture showing Ultrasound guided egg retrieval

Egg retrieval procedure

The procedure to aspirate the eggs from the follicles under transvaginal guided ultrasound requires general anesthesia to ensure the patient feels no pain and is asleep.

Egg retrieval is accomplished by transvaginal ultrasound aspiration. An ultrasound probe is inserted into the vagina to identify the follicles, and a needle is guided through the vagina and into the follicles.

The eggs are aspirated from the follicles through the needle connected to a suction device. This usually takes less than 30 minutes and depends on the number of eggs. After the procedure, some women may experience cramping on the day of retrieval but usually the discomfort will be better on the following day except for some women who have many eggs who may still experience some lower abdominal discomfort for a few days.

Eggs recovered from the human ovary

Egg collection

After the eggs are retrieved, they are recovered from the follicular fluid and kept in physiologic media.

After half an hour of recovery in the physiologic media, the eggs will be processed for fertilization with sperm either using the IVF or ICSI technique.

In the case of ICSI, the eggs will have the external shell removed. The denuded eggs are examined in the laboratory for maturity and quality. Mature eggs are placed in an IVF culture medium and transferred to an incubator to await fertilization by the sperm. Normally, the percentage of egg maturity is at 80% or more. For example: 10 eggs can be retrieved, eight of which will be mature enough for fertilization and the other two will be immature. Only mature eggs can be used in the process of fertilization. Immature eggs are usually abnormal and need to be discarded. Not all eggs can be used and not all mature eggs will be normal and lead to a healthy pregnancy.

ICSI fertilization

Sperm is separated from semen usually obtained by masturbation into a sterile container. Specifically, sperm are retrieved from the testes directly by surgical technique due to problems of azoospermia (no sperm in the ejaculate) or a problem of low quality of ejaculated sperm.

Fertilization may be accomplished by insemination whereby enough motile sperm are placed together with the eggs and incubated for a while to await in vitro fertilization or ICSI, where a single sperm is directly injected into each mature egg.

On the day after egg retrieval and fertilization, visualization of two pronuclei confirm fertilization of the egg. One pronucleus is derived from the egg and one from the sperm.

The general fertilization rate of mature eggs varies from 65–75%. The cause of a lower fertilization rate in the hands of an experienced embryologist may be poor egg or sperm quality. Occasionally, fertilization does not occur at all, even if ICSI has been used.

This picture confirms that the egg contains one male and one female nucleus (from the father and the mother). Sometimes, we can see that the egg contains more than two nuclei, the extra one being from either the father or the mother. This is an abnormal fertilization and the egg needs to be discarded.

On the following day, the embryo will be divided into two cells, four cells on day 2, and eight cells on day 3. Sometimes we transfer eight-cell-stage embryos to the patient. If we culture the embryo longer and wait for at least five to six days for blastocyst development (fluid-filled cavity formed), we will get the most potent embryo with a higher chance of implantation than the eight-cell stage. Most of the time, we prefer to transfer the embryo at a later stage on day 5. However, the number of embryos that can grow beyond the eight-cell stage depends on egg and sperm quality as well as on the quality control in the embryo culture system.


Two cells on day 1-2


Four cells on day 2


Eight cells on day 3


10-16 cells on day 3-4


Blastocyst on day 5-6

Embryo transfer click here